ACT Schools Honoured In Anzac Awards

Senator for the ACT Zed Seselja, today congratulated four local Canberra schools on being recognised at this year’s Anzac Day Schools’ Awards.

“The Australian Government Anzac Day Schools’ Awards acknowledges secondary and primary schools that have shown an exceptional commitment to Australia’s wartime history through learning and commemorative activities,” Senator Seselja said today.

The following ACT schools received awards:

  • Melba Copland Secondary School – National winner and ACT winner in the secondary school category
  • St Clare’s College – ACT Runner-up in the secondary school category
  • Red Hill Primary School – ACT Winner in the primary school category
  • Weetangera Primary School – ACT Runner-up in the primary school category

“I was particularly pleased to see that Melba Copland Secondary School was chosen as the National Winner in the secondary school category, which includes $3000 in prize money in recognition of their outstanding entry,” stated Senator Seselja.

“Melba Copland Secondary School was commended for extensively involving their local community in Anzac Day commemorations by inviting veterans and current serving members of the Australian Defence Force to talk to students and other local schools.

This year’s Anzac Day Schools’ Awards has seen 34 schools from towns and cities across Australia share in $46,000 in prize money through the Department of Veterans’ Affairs Commemorations Program.

“During the Anzac Centenary, a period of significant national commemoration, I encourage all schools in the ACT to continue learning about the significance of commemoration and to enter the Anzac Day Schools’ Awards in 2015,” Senator Seselja concluded.

For more information on the Anzac Day Schools’ Awards visit