Grants to preserve Australia’s heritage

Wednesday, 26 October 2016 17:32


Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield, Minister for the Arts and Senator the Hon Zed Seselja, Senator for the ACT, have announced funding for three projects in the ACT through the Community Heritage Grants Program.

The grants were awarded to recipients by Senator Seselja at a ceremony at the National Library of Australia last night.


“I am pleased to announce that the UC’s Faculty of Arts and Design, the Australian National Museum of Education and the Norfolk Island Museum have received funding through the Australian Government’s Community Heritage Grants Program,” Senator Seselja said.

Minister Fifield said the Turnbull Government is pleased to provide $415,000 in grants for the program in 2016-17, to support 77 projects across Australia.

“This program helps community organisations to preserve and ensure access to locally held, nationally important cultural heritage collections across Australia,” said Minister Fifield.

The Community Heritage Grants Program provides grants of up to $15,000 to community organisations to preserve and display objects of national significance.

“The Turnbull Government understands the importance of our extraordinary natural, indigenous and historic heritage. This funding will help ensure that ordinary Australians continue to engage with our heritage,” said Senator Seselja.

The program is supported by the Department of Communications and the Arts with four of Australia’s cultural institutions: the National Library of Australia, the National Archives of Australia, the National Film and Sound Archive and the National Museum of Australia.

Since the Community Heritage Grants Program began in 1994, the Australian Government has provided more than $6 million for over 1200 projects.

For more information about the program visit:


Media Contacts: Veronica Hayes