Speaker of the ACT Legislative Assembly Vicki Dunne has congratulated this year’s winners of the Legislative Assembly Awards for Art.

Due to be announced at an award ceremony on tonight (Friday) as part of the ANU School of Art’s graduating exhibition, the recipients of the two awards are Christine Ramsay and Brooke Jarvis.

Honourable mentions will be given to Louella Raynold, Kirrily Humphries, Cat Freeman and Sally O’Callaghan.

Each year the Speaker awards the two $500 prizes to graduating students of the school, to contribute towards the cost of materials associated with their artistic practice.

The winning artists traditionally have their works exhibited in the Assembly building for one year. Due to current building works, the Assembly will display new works by these artists once renovations are complete in mid-late 2016.

“I am always very impressed with the overall quality of the exhibition. The students display an immense variety of creative talent across all the fields of visual art, and I wish all graduates every success into the future.” Mrs Dunne said.

The Legislative Assembly’s Art Advisory Committee has developed a strong relationship with the ANU School of Art and it is a privilege to be able to foster, in this small way, the visual arts in the ACT.