Winner announced for Mount Ainslie summit’s future design

The Australian and ACT governments have announced the winner of the national design competition for the Mount Ainslie summit—a design featuring a striking new circular look-out, lawns for picnicking and an upgraded entry with a native meadow. 

Minister for Major Projects, Territories and Local Government Paul Fletcher said the winning design provides a vision for the development of one of Canberra’s most cherished places that embraces the landscape and encompasses usability of the area for residents and visitors.

“The design presents a unique vision to help guide the next decade of landscape development at the Mount Ainslie summit, one of Canberra’s most impressive lookouts,” Mr Fletcher said.

“This work establishes a framework for Mount Ainslie to ultimately create a setting that is fitting for this nationally significant site.”

Minister for Transport and Municipal Services Meegan Fitzharris said the winning design was informed by the unique landscape of the ACT and celebrated Griffin’s design for the city.

“Mount Ainslie is a much-loved local destination that looks out over one of our city’s most beautiful vistas. This national competition provided the opportunity to revitalise our local landmark, and the winning design does just that,” Minister Fitzharris said.

“Three entrants were shortlisted and then assessed by a panel of jurors from the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects, the National Capital Authority and Territory and Municipal Services. The two other finalists were local firm Redbox Design Group and Blackwell and Associates (from Western Australia).”

“We thank everyone who made a submission and congratulate the three finalists for their efforts. I look forward to seeing the visitor experience at Mount Ainslie improve into the future,” said Minister Fitzharris.

Senator for the Australian Capital Territory Zed Seselja, who attended the announcement, said the selection of Sue Barnsley and Jane Irwin as the winners follows a process which attracted 17 entrants from across Australia.

“The design by Sue Barnsley and Jane Irwin successfully integrated Mount Ainslie’s bush setting with Canberra’s heritage and identity,” Senator Seselja said.

“I was pleased to be part of the announcement today and to see real investment in assets unique to the character of Canberra.”