Our Structure


The Organisational wing is based on the Party’s paid membership of supporters. Across Australia, the Liberal Party has more than 80,000 members in more than 2,000 branches which are governed by their respective State and Territory Liberal Party structure - known as 'Divisions'. It is responsible for:

  • Party’s Platform - the broad statement of Liberal fundamental beliefs and intentions
  • Pre-selection of the Party’s candidates for elections
  • Management and conduct of election campaigns
  • Fundraising


The Parliamentary wing of the Liberal Party is made up of Federal and State Parliamentarians. It is responsible for:

  • Representation of electorates held by Liberal Party Members of Parliament
  • Liberal Party’s policies, strategies and parliamentary priorities guided by the principles contained in the Party Platform


The Canberra Liberals have a number of branches that ensure all our members can contribute to the party in many different ways.

There are 5 Electorate Branches, Brindabella, Ginninderra, Kurrajong, Murrumbidgee and Yerrabi, which correspond to the ACT Legislative Assembly Electorates. All members belong to one of these branches, determined by where they live.

All female members of the Party are members of Women’s Council.

Members between 16-30 years may also elect to join the Young Liberals.

Residents of Norfolk Island can join the Norfolk Island Interest Branch.

All members can have input into policy formation of the Division by debating and voting on policy at all branch meetings, at Policy Conventions and by joining policy subcommittees.


The ACT headquarters of the Liberal Party is located in Deakin and provides professional support for the ACT Liberal Party's organisational and parliamentary wings.

The Director is responsible for the overall coordination of the Divisional Office's activities.

The Divisional Office is the Liberal Party's centre for administration, research and campaign planning.

divisional council

In the ACT, the coordinating body of the Liberal Party is called Divisional Council. Members from across Canberra attend these meetings.

management committee

Between meetings of Divisional Council, the management and control of the Party’s affairs in Canberra are vested in the Management Committee. Management Committee usually meets monthly. In addition to office-bearers elected by Divisional Council, local Electorate Chairs and Committee Presidents are also represented on the Management Committee.

Our Constitution and Rules

The Canberra Liberals’ Constitution is available to download and print here.
The Liberal Party of Australia’s National Code of Conduct is available here.
The Liberal Party of Australia’s Complaints and Dispute Resolution Policy is available here.

party people

The current senior officers of the Canberra Liberals are as follows:


Nick Tyrrell


Martin Dunn


Adam Wojtonis

Read more about past senior officers here.